Ayurveda 101

Vaana @ 2020-04-20 14:53:22 -0400
Ayurveda means "knowledge of life" in Sanksrit. It is one of the oldest wellness practices in the world and emerged in India almost 3,000 years ago. Ayurvedic routines promote the usage of natural ingredients, such as essential oils and herbs, combined with a healthy diet and exercise to lead healthy, full lives.

This practice harnesses an understanding that the body is made up of three principal energies, or "doshas." Every individual has a unique biological makeup of these doshas depending on how we react to various emotions and physical pressures. The three doshas are Vata, Pitta, Kapha.


Vata — Air

Physical: Regulates breathing, circulation, heartbeat and bodily movements.
Emotional: Controls anxiety, pain, and fear.
Personality: (+) High achievers, quick, vibrant, dynamic, creative and airy.
(-) Subject to imbalances from stress, indecisive, and ungrounded.

Pitta — Fire

Physical: Manages metabolism and digestion.
Emotional: Controls emotions such as anger, hate, and jealousy.
Personality: (+) Fiery, focused, determined, and confident
(-) Subject to irritability and can be dictatorial

Kapha — Earth

Physical: Manages physical structure and immune system.
Emotional: Controls emotions such as calmness, love, and greed.
Personality: (+) Highly reliable, calm, and kind
(-) Subject to lethargy, stubbornness, and dullness

Most individuals are predominantly one dosha and Ayurvedic principles allow us to find balance through various practices.

Vaana is dedicated to helping every individual find this balance in their minds and souls